Credits and Acknowledgements


© 2014 University of Western Australia – All Rights Reserved. For Information Purposes Only.

The animations on this website may be downloaded for non-commercial use by individuals and organisations. For commercial use contact Christine Jeffries-Stokes, at the Rural Clinical School of Western Australia or Steven Aiton,

Thank you

Thanks to the community.

The Western Desert Kidney Health Project team wish to thank the communities of Coolgardie, Kurrawang, Norseman, Coonana, Tjuntjuntjara, Menzies, Morapoi, Leonora, Laverton, Mt Margaret and Mulga Queen who have taken part in the project. Without you it would not be a success. We would especially like to acknowledge the community leaders, the schools and the health service staff in each of these communities.

Thanks to our volunteers

Geoffrey Stokes, Rebecca Stokes, Ada Stokes, Milly-anna Stokes, Ruth Monck, Anna Wills, Dr Shanti Minz, Dr Tom Volkman, Dr Emma Lalor, Dr Katherine Stokes, Dr Khiang Wai, Dr Chong Chui Han. The Students of the Rural Clinical Schools of the University of Western Australia, The University of Notre Dame and The University of Tasmania.

Thanks to our delivery partners

We would also like to thank all of the staff, past and present from the Rural Clinical School of WA, the University of Western Australia, Bega Garnbirringu Health Service, the Goldfields-Midwest Medicare Local and Wongutha Birni Aboriginal Corporation for their tireless effort making this extraordinary project a success.

Thanks to our sand animators
  • Writers: Alison Dimer, Naomii Schultz.
  • Musicians: Delson Stokes, Jeffrey Wicker, Kevin Banks, Kim Tucker, James Bonney, Eric Thomas Jr., Daniel Sinclair, Samuel Stokes, The Desert Stars; James Minning,Derek Coleman, Justin Curry, Troy Frank, Peter Keelan.
  • Narrators: Catherine Howard, Sandra Evans, Jeffrey Wicker, Annette Stokes, Stacey Miller, Marjorie Bonney, Victor Willis, Vanessa Thomas, Megan Bates.
  • Singers and Narrators: Shania Cameron, Shanae Tucker, Tahlee Blizzard.
Thanks to our photographers

Poppy van Oorde-Grainger, Matt Scurfield, Steven Aiton, Roman Kutzowitz, Lockie McDonald, Andrew Hughes, Peter Keelan, Craig Sinclair.

Thanks to our artists

Steve Aiton, Clare Bailey, Peter Keelan, Cecile Williams, Nalda Searles, Matt Scurfield, Francis Italiano, Leticia Shaw, James Gentle, Poppy Van Ord Granger, Evelyn Roth, Ken Allen, Suri Bin Saad, Phillipa O’Brien, Martin Meader, Rodney Stratton, Ruth Koedyk, Catherine Howard, Alison Dimer.

Thanks to our Do Tank

We are in debt to a small team of senior leaders who provided strategic advice to make this project possible: John Nell; John Atkins; Anne Dunn AM; and Ken Wyatt AM, MP.

Thanks to our funding and sponsorship partners

Many of our sponsors and funding partners do so much more than just provide funds. We thank you all for your wise advice and active participation as true project partners.